Getting My License Back
New York law imposes strict penalties for those convicted of DWI or DUI charges. The severity of these penalties can vary a lot, depending on aggravating factors such as repeat offenses, underage drinking or motor vehicle accidents. However, all penalties involve some sort of driver’s license restriction, ranging from a suspension of at least 90 days to a revocation for 18 months or more.
The Law Offices of Kristine M. Demo-Vazquez, P.C., is a Henrietta, New York, law firm that defends the rights of people accused of crimes, including property crimes, traffic violations and DWI. With our practical, results-oriented approach to legal representation, we help clients minimize the damage DWI charges can do to their personal and professional lives. For many clients, both DWI clients and others, this means fighting to get a driver’s license back.
Revocation And Suspension
New York has two main categories of penalties that affect driver’s licenses: revocation and suspension. Understanding the distinction will help you understand what’s at stake in your case when you speak to an attorney.
Suspension: If your license is suspended, it means you will lose your driving privilege. A suspension can be definite, meaning that the suspension will end at a set date. It can also be indefinite, meaning that the court will review your case at some point in the future to decide whether your privilege will be restored. When your suspension ends, you may have to pay a fee.
Revocation: If your license is revoked, you lose your driving privileges and your license. A revocation can be for a definite or an indefinite time. When the revocation period ends, you must apply for a new license and go through all the fees, tests and paperwork required.
In some cases, people who have had a license suspended or revoked can apply for a conditional or restricted license. This license may allow you to drive only to work, grocery shopping or important appointments, but it can be a real-life saver for people who need to drive to get to work and perform other necessary tasks.
Drivers who are considered at risk for drunk driving may be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed in their cars while they drive on a conditional or restricted license.
If you have lost your driver’s license, talk to an experienced lawyer and start getting your life back on track by calling the Law Offices of Kristine M. Demo-Vazquez, P.C., today at 585-441-0216. You can also contact us by email.